Norse Athletics Announces End of the Year and All-Region Awards

Norse Athletics Announces End of the Year and All-Region Awards

ESCANABA, MI - Norse Athletics has announced their postseason awards.  The majority of the awards were presented at the end of the year Athletics' Banquet, held on April 30.  Awards include various honors selected by each team, academic awards, Region XIII awards, the Student-Athlete of the Year Award, the Male Athlete of the Year Award, and the Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Each year Bay College selects the most outstanding individual who has distinguished themselves both in the classroom and in their respective sport(s) to receive the Student Athlete of the Year Award.  Criteria for the award include excellence in the classroom, a minimum of a 3.2 cumulative GPA or higher, and success in their respective sport or sports.  The Student-Athlete of the Year Award for the 2018-19 academic year was awarded to Tyler Willette (SO, Escanaba, MI).  Tyler was a two-year member of the Men's Basketball Team who started in 28 of the Norse's 30 games.  He played 24.2 minutes per game and scored 9.9 points per game, while grabbing 4.3 rebounds per game.

Norse Athletics also recognizes individuals that exceed in their respective sport(s).  Jordan Kraemer (SO, Norway, MI) was the 2018-19 Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year winner.  A member of the women's basketball team, Jordan led the team in scoring with 17.2 points per game, rebounding with 6.8 rebounds per game, steals with 56, and minutes with 24.5 per game.  On February 13 Jordan surpassed the 1,000 point plateau, and ended her two-year career at Bay with 1,051 points.

Alfonzo Fields (SO, Milwaukee, WI) was the recipient of the Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year Award.  Alfonzo appeared in all 30 games for the Norse, started in 29 of them and led the team in scoring with 12.6 points per game.  He also led the team with 6.1 rebounds per game and had 48 steals on the season.  He was second on the team with 81 assists and a 39.2 three-point percentage.  Alfonzo finished his career at Bay College with 710 career points.


Bay Athletes also received national recognition for their accomplishments.  The NJCAA Cross Country Coaches Association annually awards Scholar All-American Awards.  Four Norse Cross Country team members received that honor.  Katy Combs (SO, Escanaba, MI), Steven Magnuson (SO, Cheboygan, MI), Jody Peters (FR, Gladstone, MI), and Lauren Peters (FR, Munising, MI) were named as Scholar All-Americans.  The Norse Women's Cross Country Team was also named as a Scholar All-American Team.  They boasted a 3.27 grade point average, which put them in the top 20 in the country.


NJCAA Region XIII selects individuals for an All-Region Team at the end of each season.  Alfonzo Fields was named to the Men's Basketball All-Region Team.  Jordan Kraemer and Paige Welch (SO, Perronville, MI) were the Bay representatives on the All-Region Women's Basketball Team.  Tyler Skufca (SO, Escanaba, MI) was selected from the baseball team as an All-Region player, while Emily Bruntjens (SO, Escanaba, MI), Kaitlyn Hardwick (FR, Gladstone, MI), and Rhiley Hubert (SO, Rapid River, MI) represented Bay College on the Softball All-Region Team.

Each team selected individuals to be honored based on their performance throughout the year.



Most Valuable Player:  Oliver Dunn (FR, Melbourne, Australia)

Most Valuable Pitcher: Tyler Skufca (SO, Escanaba, MI)

Norse Award: Jeff Allen (FR, Watervliet, MI)


Men's Basketball


Most Valuable Player: Alfonzo Fields (SO, Milwaukee, WI)

Most Improved Player: Christian Alexander (FR, Dorset, UK)

Norse Award: Tyler Willette (SO, Escanaba, MI)

Most Valuable Manager: Curtis Aiken (SO, Escanaba, MI)


Women's Basketball


Most Valuable Player: Jordan Kraemer (SO, Norway, MI)

Most Improved Player: Marissa Ackerman (FR, Munising, MI)

Norse Award: Paige Welch (SO, Perronville, MI)


Cross Country


Most Valuable Female Runner: Zoie Berg (SO, Gladstone, MI)

Most Improved Female Runner: Jody Peters (FR, Gladstone, MI)

Most Valuable Male Runner: James Young (FR, Gladstone, MI)

Most Improved Male Runner: DeVonte Grier (SO, Griffin, GA)

Norse Award: Steven Magnuson (SO, Cheboygan, MI)




Most Valuable Player: Emily Bruntjens (SO, Escanaba, MI)

Most Valuable Pitcher: Lexi Winling (FR, Gladstone, MI)

Rookie of the Year: Kaitlyn Hardwick (FR, Gladstone, MI)

Norse Award: Beth Gannigan (FR, Coleman, WI)